UNIABUJA ratifies the promotion of 10 to Professors and Associate Professors

Posted by Myschool Vee on 28th September, 2020   |   Comments

The Governing Council of the University of Abuja has ratified the promotion of six academic staff to the rank of professor and four others to the rank of associate professor.

The Head, Information and Public Relations, Dr Habib Yakoob disclosed on Sunday that the promotion came after the favourable external assessment report of their publications and will take effect from 2018 and 2019.

UNIABUJA ratifies the promotion of 10 to Professors and Associate Professors

According to Dr Yakoob, the approval was given at the 87th Regular meeting of Council held on Tuesday 15th and Wednesday 16th September 2020.

The newly promoted professors include Dr Wasiu Olugbenga Gabadeen (Educational Management), Dr Idu Edwin Ejoga (Agricultural Extension and Communication Department), Dr Ogbe Adamu Okuwa (Veterinary Medicine), Dr Binta Ibrahim Zaifada (Educational Administration and Planning), Dr Pam Z. Chuwang (Field Crops Agronomy) and Dr Oke Eunice Bose (Educational Management).

While those promoted to the rank of associate professor include Dr Hamza Na’Uzo, with specialization in Grammar, Semantics and Socio-linguistics, Dr Yunusa Thairu of Medical Microbiology and Parasitology, Dr Dada Matthew Sunday of Educational Administration and Planning and Dr Biyaya Beatrice Nwankwo of Community Medicine.

In his congratulatory message, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abdul-Rasheed Na’Allah said their promotion was well-deserving and a testimony to their hard work and dedication to scholarship.

Professor Na’Allah declared that more promotion of academic and non-teaching staff would be treated at the next Council meeting, adding that the Council has asked the Appointments & Promotions Committee (A&PC) to meet soon to address some issues concerning staff that have applied for promotion as well as resolve all matters concerning interviews and vacancies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *